Week in Pop: Advertisement, FlygerWoods, Ghost Soda

Post Author: Sjimon Gompers

Continuing to inspire a more caring & respectful world, Impose’s Week in Pop presents just some of the folks that are inspiring the multidisciplinary arts of today & tomorrow. With first a rundown of some of the week’s biggest pop buzz, there was news that My Bloody Valentine apparently released a super low-key alternative pressing of the influential album Isn’t Anything; Speedy Ortiz announced album number three Twerp Verse available April 27 via Carpark & dropped “Lucky 88”; Hop Along announced the album Bark Your Head Off, Dog available April 6 from Saddle Creek & dropped “Not Abel”; Sunflower Bean dropped “Twentytwo” from their upcoming second album Twentytwo in Blue; Mont Jake dropped the Billy Boyd Cape video for “Come Closer” ft. Leyland Whitty of BADBADNOTGOOD & Gene Fisher; Bishop Nehru dropped “Rooftops” produced by MF DOOM; Parquet Courts announced the new album Wide Awake! produced by Danger Mouse available May 18 from Rough Trade & dropped “Almost Had to Start a Fight/In and Out of Patience”; Uppermost announced new album Perseverance available March 23 via the imprint UPPWIND & dropped “Atoms” ft. Birsen; Janelle Monáe dropped “Make Me Feel” & dropped the video for “Django Jane”; Mount Eerie dropped “Tintin in Tibet” from the upcoming album Now Only available March 16 from P.W. Elverum & Sun; Post Malone & Ty Dolla Sign dropped “Psycho”; Mozzy dropped “Nobody Knows” ft. Jay Rock & DCMBR; The Breeders dropped “Nervous Mary”; George Lewis Jr. announced the new Twin Shadow album Caer available April 27 & dropped “Saturdays” ft. HAIM; Black Moth Super Rainbow announced the new album Panic Blooms available May 4 from Rad Cult & dropped “Mr No One”; Nicolas Jaar dropped the album 2012 – 2017 under the moniker A.A.L (Against All Logic); Kim Petras covered The Killers’ “Human”; Father John Misty dropped “Mr. Tillman”; Bon Iver performed an unreleased song apparently titled “Hayward WI”; Kansas City’s Hembree dropped “Continents”; Hot Chip’s Alexis Taylor announced the new album Beautiful Thing avaialble April 20 from Domino & dropped the Edwin Burdis video for the title track; Juice dropped “Sugar”; Cary Brothers dropped “Cool City”; Belly is back with news of the new album DOVE available May 4 & dropped “Shiny One”; Reuben and the Dark dropped the Asher Moss & Melodi Meadows video for “Hurricane”; Craig Wedren dropped the album Adult Desire & the 360 VR App; Car Seat Headrest covered Smash Mouth’s “Fallen Horses” & Smash Mouth covered Car Seat Headrest’s “Something Soon”; Chicago imprint Closed Sessions announced a partnership with Fat Possum’s distro House Arrest; Mike Donovan announced tour & dropped “Sadfinger” off the Drag City album How to Get Your Record Played In Shops available April 20; Zola Jesus anounced Okovi: Additions available April 6 via Sacred Bones & tour with Alice Glass; Courtney Barnett announced a tour, Perfume Genius announced dates with David Byrne, Big Thief, Sarah Jaffe & Belle & Sebastian; Radiohead announced a stateside tour; EELS dropped the video for “Today is the Day” off the upcoming album The Deconstruction available April 6 with news of tour dates; Rich Aucoin dropped “The Fear” off the Hold EP available March 16 with word of the “Press On” mental health awareness tour; Young Thug apparently changed their name to “SEX“; Empire of the Sun’s Billy Graham tribute; Frank Ocean versus producer Om’Mas Keith; G Herbo busted for gun possession; Alice Glass won in court as Ethan Kath’s defamation suit was dismissed; and Kirin J Callinan avoided conviction over the whole kilt flashing debacle.
As we look forward to what the future holds, it is now our pleasure & privilege to present the following insights, interviews & exclusives from Advertisement, FlygerWoods, Ghost Soda, El Mar, Fat Tony, Her Skin, Hit Bargain, Preening, QUAL, SINOSA, guest selections by Dana Buoy & more—in no particular order.

Week in Pop Quick Links (Table of Contents):

1. Advertisement
2. FlygerWoods
3. Ghost Soda
4. El Mar
5. Fat Tony
6. Her Skin
7. Hit Bargain
8 Preening
11. Week in Pop media roundup
12. Dana Buoy’s Week in Pop guest selections