Week in Pop: Hoop, Sabri, Sarah Clanton

Post Author: Sjimon Gompers

Wishing everyone a happy Friday the thirteenth, Impose’s Week in Pop presents all the latest thrills, chills & radical arts from today’s top artists.

Week in Pop Quick Links (Table of Contents):

1. Hoop
2. Sabri
3. Sarah Clanton
4. Cautious Clay
5. GOSH!
6. The Honey Toads
7. John Moods
8. Luna Honey
9. The Parlor
10. Uncle Luc
11. Universal Sex Arena
12. Week in Pop media roundup
13. Exitmusic’s Week in Pop guest selections
But before we deliver the week’s latest breaking exclusives, we give you the buzz rundown with news that Princess Nokia dropped the new mixtape A Girl Cried Red; L7 announced a new album; Nandi Rose Plunkett penned an essay on the new moving Half Waif song “Back In Brooklyn” featured off the new album Lavender available April 27 via Cascine; Ian Sweet dropped the Alix Spence video for the title track “Shapeshifter” & touring with Frankie Cosmos; Janelle Monáe dropped the Emma Westernberg video for “PYNK” ft. Grimes off the forthcoming Dirty Computer album; Lykke Li dropped the “so sad so sexy” video; Empress Of dropped the singles “Trust Me Baby” co-produced by Cole M.G.N. & “In Dreams”; The Weeknd dropped the Joachim Johnson video for “He Was Never There”; Ryan Hemsworth inked a global publishing deal with Third Side Music; Jenny Hval announced The Long Sleep EP available May 25 via Sacred Bones & dropped “Spells”; Arca dropped “Feiche” accompanied by visuals co-created by Carlos Sáez; Haleek Maul announced the upcoming In Permanence EP available May 11 & dropped “Blessai”; Young Thug dropped the Hear No Evil EP; Indridi dropped “Amma” off the upcoming album ding ding available May 18 from figureight; Swae Lee of Rae Sremmurd dropped “Guatemala” ft. Slim Jxmmi; Tyler, the Creator remixed Drake & Trouble’s track “Bring it Back” produced by Mike WiLL Made-It; The Internet’s own Patrick Paige II announced the debut solo album Letters of Irrelevance available May 18 from EMPIRE & dropped the Topshelf Junior video for “On My Mind / Charge it to the Game”; Kid Cudi dropped “The Rage”; Kid Koala dropped the “Floor Kids Megamix”; Knxledge dropped “Relapse” ft. Traffic & the Gladwemet EP via Stones Throw & announced west coast dates; Lapalux dropped “Damson” with news of a stateside tour; Perera Elsewhere announced the Drive EP available May 4 through Friends of Friends & dropped the title track; King Tuff dropped “Neverending Sunshine” off the Sub Pop album The Other; Geographer dropped the Alone Time EP; Nicki Minaj dropped “Barbie Tingz” & “Chun-Li“; Spritzer dropped “Jean & Helene”; Florence and the Machine dropped the AG Rojas video for “Sky Full of Song”; Mikky Ekko dropped a visualization for “What’s It Like Now” via the Advance Copy EP; Kamasi Washington announced the new album Heaven and Earth & dropped “Fists of Fury” & “The Space Travelers Lullaby“; Post Animal dropped “Tire Eyes” off the upcoming debut album When I Think Of You In A Castle available April 20 via Polyvinyl; Matty dropped “How Can He Be” off the upcoming album arriving this summer; Calpurnia (lead by Stranger Things‘s Finn Wolfhard) dropped the Martin MacPherson & Jason Bartell video for “Louie” off the Scout EP available June 15 via Royal Mountain Records; Paul White dropped “Returning” off the upcoming Rejuvenate album; Amber Arcades dropped “Goodnight Europe” via Heavenly Recordings; Alice Bag dropped the video for “Turn It Up!”; Xavier Dunn dropped “Isic Tutor“, the Black Summer remix & an acoustic version; Zayn dropped the Jose Padilha video for “Let Me” co-produced by MYKL; Sofi Tukker dropped the Mac Boucher video for “Batshit”; Damien Jurado dropped the single “Allocate” from the upcoming album The Horizon Just Laughed available May 4 via Secretly Canadian; Team Love are re-issuing Quarterbacks’ Quarterboy on cassette; Sweet Valley dropped “Wet Suit Jinx” off the upcoming Eternal Champ II release available April 20 via Ghost Ramp; LUMP (Laura Marling & Mike Lindsay) announced their self-titled arriving June 1 via Dead Oceans & dropped the Esteban Diacono animated video for “Curse of the Contemporary”; Beach Slang’s James Alex dropped “Noisy Heaven” off the upcoming debut Quiet Slang album Everything Matters But No One Is Listening available May 18 via Polyvinyl & announced tour; Lowell dropped “War Face” & released the new album Lone Wolf via Arts & Crafts; Gruff Rhys announced the new album Babelsberg available June 8 from Rough Trade Records & dropped the Ryan Owen Eddleston, Dylan Goch, Alice McKee & Catryn Ramasut video for “Frontier Man”; Gang Gang Dance announced the new album Kazuashita available June 22 from 4AD & dropped “Lotus”; Prism Tats dropped the video for “Mamba”; Fleet Foxes dropped the David Hession & Rosie Holtom animated video for “If You Need To, Keep Time on Me”; Dashboard Confessional dropped the “Heart Beat Here” video; Top Dawg boss Punch declaredCardi B is 2pac
“; Arcade Fire covered the Cranberries’ “Linger”; The Cure will be heading to the studio soon to work on new material; The Beths signed to Carpark Records & reissued the Warm Blood EP & announced their world tour; Jenny Lewis announced a tour; awakebutstillinbed announced spring & summer tour dates in support of Tiny Engines album what people call low self​-​esteem is really just seeing yourself the way that other people see you; Jay Som, Soccer Mommy & Foster the People will be touring with Paramore; Christian Death announced the “Death Romantique” tour; Arctic Monkeys announced a tour; Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds announced tour dates; The National launched the fan club & the two-day festival “There’s No Leaving New York“; Psycho Las Vegas festival buzz; Songwriters Fonts features typefaces developed from the handwriting of pop heroes; Will Oldham song lyrics to be collected in the book Songs of Love and Horror available October 9 through W.W. Norton and Company; Moby penned the op-ed titled “Food Stamps Shouldn’t Pay for Junk”; Chvrches sponsoring Girls Rock Glasgow; Young M.A. directed a Pornhub adult film titled The Gift; Sorority Noise canceled tour dates after Cameron Boucher accused of rape; Huey Lewis canceled shows over hearing loss; Kanye West is writing a book on philosophy; we celebrate the life & talents of the Staple Singers’ Yvonne Staples; The Thermals called it quits; and Lindsey Buckingham said goodbye to Fleetwood Mac.
As we move forward, it is now our pleasure to present the following interviews, insights & exclusives from Hoop, Sabri, Sarah Clanton, Cautious Clay, GOSH!, The Honey Toads, John Moods, Luna Honey, The Parlor, Uncle Luc, Universal Sex Arena, featuring guest selections by Exitmusic & more—in no particular order.