Week in Pop: ETA, Kristen Barredo, Micah E. Wood

Post Author: Sjimon Gompers

Week in Pop was founded to shine a light on the upstart artists & their arts that inspire us to experience our world in new ways. Through times of turbulence to eras of relative tranquility—Week in Pop offers the world an outlet of respite & sanctuary that celebrates the aesthetes that have had an inspirational impact on our lives. While this tradition will continue onward via a new platform, we now present you with the latest breaking media exclusives with a glance at some of the top buzz from the week.

Week in Pop Quick Links (Table of Contents):

1. ETA
2. Kristen Barredo
3. Micah E. Wood
4. The Bae Beach Club
5. Ben Ramazani
6. Darklands
7. Drawing Boards
8. Dream System 8
9. Eureka California
10. LUC B
11. Moon Racer
12. MC Paul Barman
13. Platonick Dive
14. Stimulator Jones
15. Youth in a Roman Field
16. Week in Pop media roundup
17. Hinds’ Week in Pop guest selections
Presenting some of the week’s big headlines, Janelle Monáe shared a big identity reveal & delivered the “Emotion Picture” companion visual for Dirty Computer & dropped the Lacey Duke video for “I Like That”; Lil B mixtapes appear across streaming platforms; Kanye continues the Twitter conversation trip, announced & dropped the new song titled “Lift Yourself” & dropped “Ye vs. The People” ft. TI; Ty Segall & Freedom Band dropped “Fanny Dog (Royal)”, currently on the World Freedom Tour; J. Cole dropped the Scott Lazer co-directed video for “Kevin’s Heart” starring Kevin Hart; Kaki King launched her own label Short Stuff Records introducing Treya Lam who dropped the single “Magic” featured off the forthcoming Good News album; Amber Arcades dropped the video for “Simple Song” off the European Heartbreak available September 28 via Heavenly Recordings; Varsity dropped the album Parallel Person today via Babe City Records & announced a spring tour with Weaves & Stef Chura; Lean dropped “On the Fence”; Kali Uchis dropped the self-directed video for “Get Up”; CupcakKe dropped “Quiz”; Thundercat dropped “Final Fight”; Gabriella Cohen dropped “Music Machine” from the upcoming album Pink Is The Colour Of Unconditional Love available June 1 via Captured Tracks; White China dropped “Shake”; Aloe Blacc dropped “Brooklyn in the Summer” off the artist’s upcoming album available later this year via XIX Recordings/Interscope; Snail Mail dropped the Brandon Herman video for “Heat Wave”; Power Trip dropped Opening Fire: 2008-2014; Mastodon dropped the BlinkMyBrain video for “Clandestiny”; Andrew Luce’s LANTERNS EP will be available June 7 via Fool’s Gold Records & dropped the title track ft. Someother; Jennifer Castle dropped the Davida Nemeroff video for “Texas”; Fever Ray dropped the Mustn’t Hurry (Remixes) EP; Sun June dropped the Laura Colwell & Stephen Salisbury visual for “Discotheque”; Buck Meek of Big Thief dropped “Maybe” off the upcoming solo debut; FAN (Meric Long of The Dodos) dropped the Charles Villyard video for “What a Mistake”; Matt and Kim’s new album Almost Everyday available May 4; Palace Winter dropped “Come Back (Left Behind)” off the upcoming Nowadays album available May 4 from Tambourhinoceros; Sam Evian dropped “IDGAF”; Paul McDonald dropped the video for “Wildcard” off the upcoming album Modern Hearts available June 1; Reed Turchi dropped “Honey Honey” off the upcoming Just A Little More Faith available July 20; She & Him dropped “She Gives Her Love to Me” & “He Gives His Love to Me“; Taylor Phelan dropped the lyric video for “Long Way Down”; Sam Valdez dropped “Farther Away”; Ward dropped the video for “Crush”; Father John Misty dropped the Jeff Desom & Carlos Lopez Estrada video for “Mr. Tillman” & covered Lana Del Rey’s “Ride”; Kai Exos dropped the video for “Hold Out the Light”; Quinn Lewis dropped “Weekend Luv”; Swimm dropped “Easy Way Out”; Juice dropped “Perfume” via the upcoming EP available May 25 via Drag City & announced the WW3 TOUR (Wonderful World of Wand); Clairo announced the debut EP diary 001 available May 25 from FADER Label dropped “4EVER”; The Internet dropped the Joe Weil video for “Roll (Burbank Funk)”; Stromae dropped “Défiler”; Oneohtrix Point Never dropped “Black Snow” ft. Anohni & the accompanying Daniel Lopatin visuals; Girl Talk dropped “Trouble in Paradise” ft. Erick The Architect of Flatbush Zombies (Vacation in Hell out now); Franz Ferdinand dropped the video for “Glimpse of Love” off their album Always Ascending & covered Drake’s “Passionfruit”; Stephen Malkmus & The Jicks dropped “Refute” ft. Kim Gordon; Kid Koala dropped the Floor Kids Video Game Soundtrack; Jazzanova dropped an inside look with “Episode 1: The Producers” ahead of their new album The Pool; Mogwai dropped “Donuts”; The Flaming Lips announced Greatest Hits Vol. 1; the George Harrison Estate launched the label HarriSongs; Abba reunited with word that their new single “I Still Have Faith in You” will debut in December; Yaeji announced a summer tour; Janet Jackson announced the State of the World tour; Braids announced east & west coast tour dates; Car Seat Headrest announced a tour; My Bloody Valentine announced a tour; Chvrches announced a stateside tour; Arctic Monkeys announced a fall tour; Neil Young announced shows with Crazy Horse; Violent Femmes announced a tour with Echo & The Bunnymen; J. Cole an
the Dreamville Festival; Iceland Airwaves buzz; Cardi B canceled her tour; George Clinton is retiring from touring; Fleetwood Mac announced tour (sans Lindsey Buckingham); The Royal Wedding to be recorded & released on Decca Records; Talking Heads/Tom Tom Club’s Chris Frantz is penning a memoir; Cardi B versus her former manager; Whitney Houston documentary trailer; Meek Mill has finally been released from prison; Kate Bush to pay tribute to the Brontë sisters; further insights revealed regarding Avicii’s untimely passing; and we celebrate the life & works of “Schoolhouse Rock!” legend Bob Dorough.
Moving forward, it is now our pleasure & privilege to present the following exclusives, insights & interviews from ETA, Kristen Barredo, Micah E. Wood, The Bae Beach Club, Ben Ramazani, Darklands, Drawing Boards, Dream System 8, Eureka California, LUC B, Moon Racer, MC Paul Barman, Platonick Dive, Stimulator Jones, Youth in a Roman Field, featuring guest selections by Hinds & more—in no particular order.