Deaf Club – “Bright Side of Death”

Post Author: Jeff Cubbison

Hardcore supergroup unleash anguished glory on pummeling new track

Deaf Club is the latest hardcore supergroup fronted by The Locust member and Three One G label head Justin Pearson, and also features Brian Amalfitano (ACxDC), Scott Osment (Weak Flesh), Jason Klein (Run With The Haunted), and Leo Ulfelder (Fissure). They craft a particularly savage brand of hardcore punk that channels thrash, crust, and grind sensibilities. Today, they’ve released their latest track, a potent one-minute (and change) ripper called “Bright Side of Death” as well as its feisty music video.

Following a layer of squelching guitar feedback, Deaf Club unleash a cavalcade of intense riffs and blastbeat textures as Pearson shrieks in his classic guttural drawl. It’s a brief but disorienting slice of punk that ratchets up the sonic intensity with every second that passes. In addition, the track’s video clip follows the band performing the song in a dark room as shady, strobe-like camera cuts pummel from all vantage points. Bonus points for Pearson’s anguished mannerisms too. “Bright Side of Death” recalls Pearson’s days with Swing Kids and The Locust – complete with seething blasts of slashing noise and pained vocal performances. It’s absolutely enthralling. Watch the clip below.