Songs of the Week: GoldLink, Hatchie, Tyler, The Creator & More

Post Author: Jeff Cubbison

It was an incredibly busy period for new music, and our Songs of the Week picks reflect that. This time, we’ve got SEVEN songs for you. Here, garage-y pop-punk, dreamy noise-pop, off-kilter rap, and brooding indie all collide. It’s the perfect way to get you pumped for that Game Of Thrones finale!

Alex Lahey – “I Don’t Get Invited to Parties Anymore”

Alex Lahey’s debut album I Love You Like A Brother was a non-stop hookfest, and her follow-up The Best Of Luck Club does not disappoint. The album’s first track “I Don’t Get Invited To Parties Anymore” is instantly catchy, but full of melancholy. Lahey addresses how her newfound success has changed her relationships back home – and the bittersweet acceptance that comes with it – again proving she’s one of the most honest songwriters out there.

GoldLink – “Zulu Screams” (feat. Maleek Berry & Bibi Bourelly)

The rapper behind one of the best songs of the last decade (the Grammy-nominated “Crew”) returns with another instant-classic, the Nigerian afrobeat-infused banger “Zulu Screams.” GoldLink continues his mainstream ascent without sacrificing an ounce of his eclectic artistry, with hypnotic production and soulful features from Maleek Berry and Bibi Bourelly. Mesmerizing stuff.

Hatchie – “Obsessed”

Australian dream-pop/shoegaze rising star Hatchie is now three-for-three with the advance singles from her forthcoming debut album Keepsake. “Obsessed” sounds like a love song – and to an extent it is – though it’s really a heartfelt ode to friendship goals. It’s also the most deliriously dreamy and swoon-worthy song released so far this year. We’ve got the feeling that Keepsake could be a dark horse Album Of The Year contender.

Megan Thee Stallion – “Cash Shit” (feat. DaBaby)

Raunchiness in rap may be the hot new trend, but Houston’s Megan Thee Stallion delivers it with such nuance and precision, it’s no wonder she’s one of the most highly-buzzed rising MCs in the game. Over rattling bass stabs, Megan and guest star DaBaby infuse their tales of money moves with insane bars steeped in vividness and creativity. For more where that came from, give her debut album Fever a full spin.

Men I Trust – “Norton Commander (All We Need)”

Men I Trust are still teasing the hell out of their still-to-be-released third album Oncle Jazz, and we’re here for it. Their newest song “Norton Commander (All We Need)” is absolutely entrancing; those airy synths, delicate guitar riffs, and bubbling basslines will send you into a state of total hypnosis. Hopefully, by the time you come out of it, Oncle Jazz will finally be out. Here’s to dreaming.

The National – “Rylan”

The National have been performing “Rylan” since 2011, and fans have always wondered if a recorded version would ever materialize. Our dreams have now been fulfilled, and it’s even more breathtaking than we hoped. The result is textbook The National: soaring melodies, brooding vocals, and an epic, anthemic aura. Overall, it’s another dynamic career highlight that once again runs the emotional gamut.

Tyler, The Creator – “I THINK”

Tyler, The Creator has evolved into one of the most inventive modern artists, reinventing himself at every turning point in his career. His new album IGOR is a total marvel, with “I THINK” proving to be a particular high point. One of the few tracks to feature Tyler’s rapping voice, the production reminds one of Kanye West’s “Stronger,” while Tyler’s signature introverted reflections provide the song’s beating heart. He’s now slowly creeping up on Legend status.