Martha, “Chekhov’s Hangnail”

Post Author: Quinn Moreland

In their newest video, British quartet Martha take on Scandinavia. Filmed by drummer Nathan Stephens Griffin, the goofy tour diary finds the band in Sweden, Norway, and Denmark, enjoying obligatory long drives, a giant ball of books(?), a genuine Swedish Ikea, and a strange variety of urban sculptures. The track, “Chekhov’s Hangnail”, is off their upcoming split with Radiator Hospital just in time for the bands’ joint UK tour. The song reaches a climax as the band comes together for the lines, “It might seem like we lost the battle, but if no one wins the war, then why keep score?” Recorded with Hookworms‘ MJ at Suburban Home Studio in Leeds, England, the song also features backing vocals from Trust Fund‘s Ellis Jones.

The full track list for the 7-inch is below, you can pre-order it here.

1. Radiator Hospital, “Night Out”
2. Radiator Hospital, “Will You Find Me”
3. Radiator Hospital, “Dark Sound”
4. Martha, “Chekhov’s Hangnail”
5. Martha, Six Men Getting Sick Six Times (Mendable)”


Martha/Radiator Hospital UK tour dates

30 London at DIY Space
31 Brighton at West Hill Hall

01 Kingston at Fighting Cocks,
02 Nottingham at JT Soar
03 Leeds at Wharf Chamber
04 Sheffield at Lughole
05 Edinburgh at Banshee Labyrinth
06 Glasgow at 13th Note
07 Manchester at Star and Garter
08 Durham at Empty Shop
09 Birmingham at Hare and Hounds
10 Cardiff at Moon Club
11 Bristol at Roll For the Soul
12 Exeter at The Cavern
13 Southampton at Joiners