Raleigh's DiggUp Tapes Cassingle Vol. 1

Post Author:
DiggUp Tapes Cassingles Vol. 1

DiggUp Tapes is a relatively new shoebox imprint out of North Carolina run by Brian Corum. Up to this point, the label was a place where Corum released stuff from his own band Lonnie Walker and those of his close friends (NAPs, Felix the Drum Machine). Enter DiggUp Tapes Cassingle Vol. 1.

According to Corum, the label “spent slightly too much money” on this new project. It seems worth it. You could argue that the release, which includes bits by members of Lower Dens and Future Islands and Dark Meat as well as a track from Birds of Avalon and a small pile of contributions from lesser-known artists sums up a regional underground sound based around Raleigh, North Carolina and thereabouts.

Your call. The tapes will be available for ordering here on February 15.

DiggUp Tapes Cassingle Vol. 1 track list:

Lonnie Walker – Heartbreakin' Ball 03:18
Snails – Snail Trail 02:45 (Sam Herring and William Cashion of Future Islands
and Abe Sanders of Lower Dens)
Gross Ghost – You Tell Me 02:45
Veelee – Bruises Easily 04:32
Whatever Brians – Math 2.0 02:54
Birds of Avalon – Guffaws 02:47
Embarrassing Fruits – Come Home 03:41
NAPS – Lines 03:48
Motor Skills – Thin 04:25
Yardwork – Eddie's Ghost 03:46
Fat Camp – Banana Hammock 03:41
Arbor Myst – You've Got to Love Everybody Before You Die 02:07 (Ben Clack, formerly of Dark Meat)