Week in Pop: Ha Ha Mart, Mane, The Tablets

Post Author:

Forget the weirdness of the world, Impose’s Week in Pop returns with a cabinet of campaigns, arts & artists you can believe in. Bringing you up to date with the latest breaking world exclusives, we deliver some of the biggest headlines you may have missed with news that Sheer Mag announced the debut album Need to Feel Your Love available July 14 from Wilsuns RC & dropped “Just Can’t Get Enough”; Chastity Belt dropped “5am” off their upcoming I Used to Spend So Much Time Alone available June 2 from Hardly Art; Dude York covered “Brandy (You’re a Fine Girl)” originally from Looking Glass; D∆WN Richard dropped the 3D video mesh for “Lazarus” & “Love Under Lights”; Jesse (from Pure X) dropped “De-pression” off Hard Sky available June 23 from Uniform Group; Danny Brown dropped “Kool Aid”; TOPS dropped “Dayglow Bimbo” off the upcoming album Sugar at the Gate available June 2 from Arbutus Records; Shabazz Palaces announced another new album titled Quazarz vs. The Jealous Machines available the same day as their upcoming new full-length Quazarz: Born on a Gangster Star July 14 from Sub Pop; Johnny Jewel dropped Insomnia” from the solo album Windswept available now from Italians Do It Better; Swimming Tapes dropped “Queen’s Parade”; Bedouine dropped “Solitary Daughter”; Com Truise dropped “Isostasy” from Iteration available June 16 from Ghostly; M.I.A. talked to the Oxford Union Society; Miley Cyrus dropped the video for “Malibu”; Phoenix dropped the Warren Fu video for “J-Boy”; Slow Magic dropped “Mind” ft. Kate Boy; Elf Power (featuring members of Elephant 6) dropped Twitching in Time today via Orange Twin & shared “Halloween Out Walking” & “Watery Shred“; Katy Perry dropped the Dent De Cuir video for “Bon Appétit” ft. Migos; Wilco covered Nick Lowe & Elvis Costellow’s “(What’s So Funny ’Bout) Peace, Love, and Understanding”; Perfume Genius dropped the Floria Sigismondi video for “Die 4 You”; Nick Murphy (fka Chet Faker) dropped the Missing Link EP & “Your Time” produced by KAYTRANADA; G-Eazy & Carnage dropped the Edgar Esteves video for “Down For Me” feat. 24Hrs; Alt-J dropped the Casper Balsle video for “In Cold Blood” ft. Iggy Pop narration; Calvin Harris new album hype; Bryson Tiller announced the new album True to Self available June 23 & dropped “Honey”; Estelle dropped “Woman’s World” off upcoming Planned Parenthood comp; Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross dropped “Green Lines”; TLC announced that their new album will be a self-titled available June 30 & dropped “Haters”; David Byrne revealed that he’s working with Daniel Lopatin of OPN & Brian Eno; Tim Heidecker dropped the songs “For Chan” & “Mar A Lago“; Madonna announced Rebel Heart tour footage available September 15; Fleet Foxes dropped the Sean Pecknold video for “Fool’s Errand”; Buddy & Kaytranada’s collaborative EP Ocean & Montana will be available May 19 from Cool LIL Company & they dropped “Find Me”; Hundred Waters dropped the Currency EP; Cornelius announced the new album Mellow Waves available June 21 & dropped “あなたがいるなら (If You’re Here)”; a book is in the works about Big Star’s Chris Bell titled There Was a Light: The Cosmic History of Big Star Founder Chris Bell from Rich Tupica from Hozac Books with a box available later this year titled The Complete Chris Bell & featured on the upcoming comp Looking Forward: The Roots of Big Star available July 7 from Omnivore & you can hear Chris in his early band Icewater with “A Chance to Live”; Against Me! & Bleached fall tour; Die Antwoord announced their alleged last album The Book of Zef, world tour & dropped “Love Drug”; The Decemberists & Death Cab For Cutie throwing ACLU & Planned Parenthood benefit in Seattle June 9 called Cascadia Resists; Waxahatchee announced “Out in the Storm Tour”; Logic announced the “Everybody’s Tour” with Joey Bada$$ & Big Lenbo; Jason Molina’s Magnolia Electric Co. bandmates announced a tour; The National announced world tour in support of their new album Sleep Well Beast available September 8 from 4AD; Brian Wilson announced summer & fall Pet Sounds tour dates; Modest Mouse announced an upcoming fall tour; Paul McCartney added more tour dates; Paramore announced their third Parahoy! Festival cruise; Jay Z’s massive 10 year
touring contract that is apparently worth approximately $200 mil; Tyler, the Creator cancelled his European tour; Frank Ocean cancelled Hangout Festival performance; Mogwai announced Every Country’s Sun available September 1 from Rock Action/Temporary Residence; Illa J announced the new album Home available June 30 from Jakarta Records & dropped “Sam Cook”; Dublab is moving to the FM dial; Ableton software can now teach; Blade Runner 2049 trailer & subsequent hysteria; another new “Twin Peaks” trailer emerged; Maxwell dropped a tour documentary; Steve McQueen is making an authorized Tupac documentary; Frank Ocean’s fancy Vogue coverage of the 2017 Met Gala in photos; “Pisner” beer made from urine collected at the Roskilde festival; KRS-One paid respect to the wrong fallen member of the Beastie Boys; Frank Ocean responded to his father’s legal complaint; Father John Misty sung about current events over pizza; PWR BTTM addressed the fallout stemming of antisemitism & sexual assault allegations & have been dropped by Polyvinyl; and the long-awaited Morrissey biopic England Is Mine will premiere July 2 at the 71st Edinburgh International Film Festival at the Festival Theatre.

Moving forward, it is our pleasure & privilege to present the following interviews, insights & exclusives from Ha Ha Mart, Mane, The Tablets, Luke Sweeney, Matt Maltese, Sarah P., The Anatomy of Frank, The Fatty Acids, Threefifty, Work Drugs, featuring guest selections by Parlor Walls & more—in no particular order.