Vektroid & Siddiq Announce Release Date for Midnight Run; Drop 2nd Single

Post Author:
midnight run

Portland producer Vektroid recently announced the release date for Midnight Run, her long-awaited collaboration album with Houston MC Siddiq. The duo has been working on the album since 2013, during which time the prolific electrowave ingenue has released five projects, including three so far in 2016.

Along with the album announcement, the pair dropped “On My Hometown,“ the second single from the 9-track project. “On My Hometown” is a warped cover of L.A. rhymer Dom Kennedy’s 2015 track. Siddiq calmly recites Kennedy’s sun-splashed California musings in a manner that retains the ’64-cruising-down-the-street-vibe of the original, but Vektroid tosses a few flaming obstacles in the way with her riveting, shifting soundbed.

The track displays four phases, from pulsing lead synths muzzled by filters to an idyllic bridge that synthesizes the very L.A. streets Siddiq rhymes about.

The tracklist for Midnight Run:

01. Overture
02. Midnight Run
03. Yukko
04. 1 More Chance
05. On My Hometown (Dom K. Cover)
06. Los Santos Freestyle
07. Fly Shit
08. Let It Smoke / Workout
09. Jordan 3

You can listen to “On My Hometown” below.