Battles’ new song “Ice Cream”

Post Author:

Since releasing the groundbreaking Mirrored nearly four years ago, Battles have been featured on car commercials, video games, and even the Twilight soundtrack. Without a peep of new material since performing the song, “Sweetie and Shag” back in December, the rockin' experimentalists have finally indulged us with “Ice Cream,” a hyper-poppy blend of dub-rock and psychedelic-experimentalism. Producer Matias Aguayo makes an appearance playfully singing over the new single which drips with 311-inspired rhythm and Deerhoof-style flourishes of delay.

Ice Cream (Featuring Matias Aguayo) by BATTLES

It's unclear whether the entire album will be this painfully bright, but perhaps when it's released in June our eyes will have adjusted in time for summer. In absence of their vocalist Tyondai Braxton, who left to work on his solo project, the remaining members of Battles reached out to their experimental peers for assistance, including appearances from synth-pop pioneer Gary Numan, Kazu Makino of Blonde Redhead, and the legendary Yamantaka Eye of Boredoms, Gloss Drop will be released June 7 on Warp Records and is shaping up to be an absolute must-listen for 2011.

Pre-order Gloss Drop here.

Gloss Drop
Gloss Drop

01 Africastle
02 Ice Cream (Featuring Matias Aguayo)
03 Futura
04 Inchworm
05 Wall Street
06 My Machines (Featuring Gary Numan)
07 Dominican Fade
08 Sweetie & Shag (Featuring Kazu Makino)
09 Toddler
10 Rolls Bayce
11 White Electric
12 Sundome (Featuring Yamantaka Eye)