Fierce Panda shows no fear of tape

Post Author:
Fierce Panda's Tape Fear compilation

Our crushes over at Fierce Panda are celebrating their 17th birthday with an amazing mixtape (the literal kind) of some of the best independent American bands.

Of course, we're a little peeved they namedrop just about every label on this side of the Atlantic they pulled from, but there's no mention of Impose despite it starting both sides with two of our alumns! Aside from Weekends and Idiot Glee, there's also a Total Slacker cut to round out our family portion, and it kills with tracks from other favorites Colleen Green, Beach Fossils, Grass Widow, Heavy Hawaii, Dum Dum Girls, La Sera, Real Estate, and a mess load of others.

Appropriately, the tape is 17 tracks long (Total Slacker's “Crystal Necklace” is a digital-only “secret” track), and it pays homage to the traditional cassette leanings with an uptempo A side, and downtempo B. The only bummer is that this release is currently limited to the UK, so the physical will come with a hefty shipping charge. We still recommend you pick it up for the limited C86 vibe, but we live in America, so you've had a chance to grab these songs for a minute.

Fierce Panda's Tape Fear compilation track list:

Side One
01 Weekends, “Raingirls”
02 Herzog, “Silence”
03 Fang Island, “Daisy”
04 Savoir Adore, “Bodies”
05 Colleen Green, “Just Like I Do’
06 Beach Fossils, “Twelve Roses’
07 Tennis, “Seafarer’
08 Grass Widow, “Tattoo’

Side Two
01 Idiot Glee, “All Packed Up’
02 Heavy Hawaii, “Teen Angel’
03 Dum Dum Girls, “Blank Girl’
04 La Sera, “Never Come Around’
05 Carnivores, “Darker Days’
06 Twin Sister, “Phenomenons’
07 Candy Claws, “Warm Forest Floor’
08 Real Estate, “Blue Lebanon’
09 Fools Gold, “Poseidon’
10 Total Slacker, “Crystal Necklace’ (special digital-only track)