9th Wonder goes solo

Post Author:

9th Wonder's reputation as a go-to producer chosen by Jay-Z to help produce Mary J. Blige's The Breakthrough (not to mention Jay-Z's “Threat”, off The Black Album) is more than a rarity, it's what makes his psuedonym apt. In a culture where most mainstream music is filtered through the spotless tinkering of a professional studio, North Carolina-born and based Pat Douthit produced his beats for those major league hip hop artists on a PC laptop. Along with remixes he did for Nas' God's Son, he's also made the rounds as “left-field” hip hop producer of Little Brother (a group he's since left, despite a recent mixtape release with McBoogie that included his production work).

He's been described as the DJ Premier to Kanye West's Pete Rock, but it might be fairer to say they're both Pete Rock. Look for that up-pitched soul-sampling with his own signature mixing style, fused with a childhood classical training that helps him hew his influences into a carefully composed whole.

His upcoming solo-debut, Dream Merchant Vol 2. is out October 9 on Six Hole/Hall of Justus Records.

01 Mr. Dream Merchant Intro
02 Shots f/Big Dho & Sean Price
03 Merchant Of Dreams f/The EMBASSY, Skyzoo & Torae
04 Brooklyn In My Mind f/ Mos Def, Jean Grae & Memphis Bleek
05 Sunday f/Keisha Shontelle & Chaundon
06 Baking Soda f/Big Treal
07 Reminisce (Take Time) f/Big Remo & The Great Novej of the A.L.L.I.E.S.
08 No Time To Chill f/Little Brother
09 It Aint Over ft. Jozee Mo & Tyler Woods
10 The Last Time f/ Royce the 5'9, Naledge & Vandalyzm of the MIDWEST WRECKIN' CREW- The D, The Chi & The Lou
11 Saved f/Saigon & Joe Scudda
12 Milky Lowa ft. Camp Lo
13 Backlash f/Sean Boog & Buckshot
14 Thank You f/ D.O.X. & O-Dash
15 Let It Bang f/Ness & Skyzoo
16 What Makes A Man f/Rapper Big Pooh & Buddy Klein